Core Faculty Members

Hye-Sung Kim

Research Assistant. Prof. Hye-Sung Kim Core Faculty
Institute of Tissue Regeneration Enginnering (ITREN)

Hye Sung Kim received her Ph.D. degree in Biomaterials Engineering from Kangwon National University in 2015 She studied biomaterials for drug delivery and tissue engineering during Ph.D. course

Following her graduation, she worked in Institute of Bioscience and Bioengineering at Kangwon National University as a senior research scientist. In 2016, she joined the Dr. Kam W. Leong’s lab at Columbia University as a postdoctoral researcher and worked on developing biomimetic 3-D scaffolds based on various biomaterials.

Dr. Kim is currently a research assistant professor at Institute of Tissue Regeneration Engineering (ITREN) since 2020.

Her research interests focus on the development of 3-D cell culture systems mimicking cell/tissue specific microenvironment.


  • Biotechnology, Biomaterials Engineering


  • (2010. 09 – 2015. 02) Ph.D. in Biotechnology, Kangwon National University
  • (2008. 09 – 2010. 08) M.E. in Biomaterials Engineering, Kangwon National University
  • (2005. 03 – 2008. 08) B.E. in Biomaterials and Products Program, Kangwon National University


  • 2020. 03 ~ Present - Research Assistant Professor, Institute of Tissue Regeneration Egnineering (ITREN), Dankook University, Republic of Korea
  • 2016. 09 – 2020. 02 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Columbia University, USA
  • 2015.03 – 2016. 08 Senior Research Scientist, Institute of Bioscience and Bioengineering, Kangwon National University, Republic of Korea
  • 2011. 02 – 2011. 09 Visiting scholar, Northwestern University, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Chemistry of Life Processes Institute, USA

Honors and awards

  • Rising Researcher, Inter-Academy Seoul Science Forum (IASSF), The Korean Academy of Science and Technolongy (KAST) (2018)
  • Postdoctoral fellowship (Fostering next-generation researcher program), National research foundation of Korea, “Nonviral direct conversion of fibroblasts to neuronal cells using cell reprogramming factor-incorporated nanofibrils” (2016-2017)
  • Young scientist award, 37th Annual meeting of Japanese society for biomaterials, “Bio-inspired nanomaterials controlling cellular responses and fates” (2015)
  • Saebyeol female scientist award, 9th Korea women’s bioscience forum (2014)

Selected Papers

  • [1] Protein-reactive nanofibrils decorated with cartilage-derived decellularized extracellular matrix for osteochondral defects”, Biomaterials (2020)
  • [2] Advanced drug delivery systems and artificial skin grafts for skin wound healing”, Advanced Drug Delivery Review (2019)
  • [3] Atom transfer radical polymerization of multi-shelled cationic corona for the systemic delivery of siRNA”, Nano Letters (2018)
  • [4] Doxorubicin encapsulated clicked gold nanoparticle clusters exhibiting tumor-specific disassembly for enhanced tumor localization and computerized tomographic imaging”, Journal of Controlled Release (2018)
  • [5] Clustering siRNA conjugates for MMP responsive therapeutics in chronic wounds of diabetic animals”, Nanoscale (2016)
  • [6] High-yield clicking and dissociation of doxorubicin nanoclusters exhibiting differential cellular uptakes and imaging”, Journal of Controlled Release (2015)
  • [7] Surface-polymerized biomimetic nanofibrils for the cell-directed association of 3-D scaffolds”, Chemical Communications (2015)
  • [8] Multifunctional nanorods serving as nanobridges to modulate T cell-mediated immunity”, ACS Nano (2013)
  • [9] Electrospun catechol-modified poly(ethyleneglycol) nanofibrous mesh for anti-fouling properties”, Journal of Materials Chemistry B (2013)
  • [10] MMPs-responsive release of DNA from electrospun nanofibrous matrix for local gene therapy: in vitro and in vivo evaluation”, Journal of Controlled Release (2010)
  • [11] Prevention of excessive scar formation using nanofibrous meshes made of biodegradable elastomer poly(3-hydroxybutyrate-co-3-hydroxyvalerate)", Journal of Tissue Engineering  (2020)

Selected Papers (Google Scholar) LINK